top of page

What is Occupational Progressive Wages (OPW) for administrators and drivers ?

We have included a quick overview and summary for your easy reference.

For full details, you can refer to :

What is it

Occupational Progressive Wages (OPW) was developed by the National Wages Council (NWC). From 1 March 2023, employers must meet the OPW requirements in order to renew existing work passes or apply for new work passes.

Who it covers

The OPW requirements cover all Singapore citizens and permanent residents who are:

  • Full-time or part-time employees in administrative or driving roles on a contract of service, and

  • Employed by firms which hire foreign workers.

The Occupational PWM is a wage system that aims to improve the wages and career progression of low-wage workers by setting a minimum pay ladder for each job category. The page provides details on the specific job categories for administrators and drivers, and the minimum wages and career progression pathways for each level.

Wage requirements

The OPW for administrators is a three-level career progression model while OPW for drivers is a two-level career progression model. They feature:

  • Training requirements to ensure that administrators and drivers are equipped with the skills needed to carry out their job functions.

  • Progressive wages set at each level to ensure that administrators and drivers are paid wages that commensurate with their skills and productivity.

Training requirements

Employers must ensure that their Singapore citizen and PR administrators and drivers meet the OPW training requirements of attaining:

  • At least 1 Workforce Skills Qualification (WSQ) Statement of Attainment, with no restriction on which WSQ course can be taken; or

  • An in-house training programme.

What training and Where I can enrol my staff?

For administrators, there are three levels: Basic, Skilled, and Expert. The training requirements for each level include:

  • Basic level: No specific training requirements

  • Skilled level: Completion of a relevant WSQ (Workforce Skills Qualifications) training module or equivalent

  • Expert level: Completion of a relevant WSQ Advanced Certificate or equivalent

The training requirements for the skilled level include completion of a relevant WSQ (Workforce Skills Qualifications) training module or equivalent. The WSQ courses found in the link provided ( can support the development of the skilled level by providing relevant training modules in areas such as customer service, communication, and leadership.

By completing these modules, administrators can develop their skills and knowledge in these areas, which can help them progress in their careers and earn higher wages.

For drivers, there are four levels: Basic, Intermediate, Advanced, and Specialist. The training requirements for each level include:

  • Basic level: Completion of the Taxi Driver Vocational License (TDVL) or Private Hire Car Driver Vocational License (PDVL) course

  • Intermediate level: Completion of the Advanced Module Training Programme for Taxi Drivers (AMTP-T) or Private Hire Car Driver's Course (PDVL-ATP) or equivalent

  • Advanced level: Completion of the National Service (NS) Enhanced Basic Driving Theory Course or equivalent

  • Specialist level: Completion of the Specialist Module Training Programme for Taxi Drivers or equivalent

For more information on the above, you can refer to :

To go straight to explore the various training, you can go to :

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page